{"Princethorpe College": {"id": 10,"link": "/home/princethorpe","color": "#004a87","newsSrc": "/news/?pid=1045&nid=8","storiesSrc": "/news/?pid=1045&nid=9"}}
Artboard 1
Skip to content ↓

Management of the Foundation

The Foundation is a company limited by guarantee and a registered charity. The directors of the company are the Trustees, who have overall responsibility for the Foundation and are guardians of the Foundation's ethos.

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the overall management of the Foundation including setting the aims of the schools and working to improve standards, maintaining the Catholic ethos of the Foundation, deciding on the use of its budget, choosing senior staff, looking after the site and buildings, developing a framework of policies within which it functions, dealing with personnel issues and settling disputes.

The Company Registration number is 4177718 and the Charity Registration number is 1087124.


Day to day management of the Foundation is delegated to the following executives, who report to the Governors and to the various sub-committees relevant to their individual responsibilities:

  • Senior Head of the Foundation and Headmaster of
    Princethorpe College
    - Ed Hester

  • Headmaster of Crackley Hall - Robert Duigan

  • Headmaster of Crescent School - Joe Thackway 

  • Foundation Bursar - Eddie Tolcher

These executives attend all Trustees' meetings and certain other sub-committee meetings.


There are regular meetings of the Foundation’s senior executives, which comprise the Heads, the Foundation Bursar, the Deputy Heads and Assistant Heads.

The Chair of Trustees may be contacted by writing to Mrs Liz Griffin, Princethorpe College, Princethorpe, Rugby, CV23 9PX


membership of the board of trustees

Membership of the Board of Trustees is between nine and eighteen persons. The Trustees are the directors of the company. They have overall responsibility for the Foundation and are guardians of the Foundation's ethos.  

Trustees are appointed for an initial term of three years and are eligible for re-appointment. The maximum term for a Trustee (with the exception of the Chair of Trustees) is twelve years.

The Trustees meet as a Governing Body each term and have an Annual General Meeting in December. They undertake the management of the Foundation through a structure of sub-committees. Every Trustee will serve on at least one sub-committee.


The committee Chair is appointed by the Governing Body, the committee then elects its Deputy Chair.

The following committees are currently in place:

  • Education & Staffing: all matters relating to the curriculum, the quality of learning and teaching and monitoring of the schools' improvement plans as well as all matters relating to staff.

  • Estates: ensures that the Foundation complies with Health and Safety Legislation and deals with matters relating to estates and grounds including future building developments.

  • Finance: deals with all finance and budgetary matters.

  • Governance: reviews the governance of the Foundation.

  • ICT: concerns the Foundation's strategic use of ICT, particularly in terms of teaching and learning.

  • Marketing, Admissions and Development: is a forum for discussion and communication between trustees and staff and promotes the Foundation and its schools. It also supports the school's culture of philanthropy and fundraising initiatives for bursaries and capital projects.


membership of the committees

Senior Head of the Foundation and Headmaster of Princethorpe College - Ed Hester, Headmaster of Crackley Hall - Robert Duigan, Headmaster of Crescent School - Joe Thackway and Foundation Bursar - Eddie Tolcher attend all Trustees' meetings and certain other sub-committee meetings.

Education and Staffing Estates
Teresa McNamara (Chair) Charlie Jenkinson (Chair)
Liz Griffin (Deputy Chair) Bernard Warner (Deputy Chair)
Jatinder Birdi Richard Harcourt
Helen Knight David Jackson
Barbara Forster Mike Fletcher
  Colin Russell
  Kieron Shaw
Beth Sharpe - Deputy Head – Pastoral Alex Darkes - Foundation Assistant Head -  Development

Duncan Cottrill - Deputy Head at Crackley Hall

Rob Heath - Director of Estates

Michael Spencer - Deputy Head – Academic  Neil McCollin - Assistant Head Co-Curricular and Teacher of PE and Games
Alan Webb - Assistant Head, Head of Pre-Prep at Crescent School  
Finance Governance
Kieron Shaw (Chair) Caroline McGrory (Chair)
Richard Harcourt (Deputy Chair) Liz Griffin (Deputy Chair)
Jatinder Birdi Jatinder Birdi
Quintin Cornforth Richard Harcourt
Liz Griffin Teresa McNamara
David Jackson  
Caroline McGrory  
Colin Russell  
Liz Brown - Finance Manager  
IT Marketing, Admissions and Development
Mike Fletcher (Chair) Bernard Warner (Chair)
Charlie Jenkinson (Deputy Chair) Charlie Jenkinson (Deputy Chair)
Liz Griffin Quintin Cornforth
Quintin Cornforth Mike Fletcher

Liz Griffin

  Colin Russell
Andy Compton - Foundation Assistant Head - Director of Digital Strategy Melanie Butler - Foundation Assistant Head - Marketing, Admissions and Communications and OPs Secretary
  Steve Kowal - Development Director