{"Princethorpe College": {"id": 10,"link": "/home/princethorpe","color": "#004a87","newsSrc": "/news/?pid=1045&nid=8","storiesSrc": "/news/?pid=1045&nid=9"}}
Artboard 1
Skip to content ↓

Princethorpe Pupils Rise To The Senior Mathematics Challenge

06 Nov

Congratulations to all the pupils awarded Gold, Silver and Bronze certificates in this year's Senior Maths Challenge. Three students performed so well that they have qualified for the follow on Senior Kangaroo Challenge.

Back in October, pupils from Princethorpe College took part in the 2023 UK Mathematics Trust (UKMT) Senior Challenge, a prestigious national problem-solving competition that recognises the best young mathematicians in the country. The Challenge involves answering multiple choice questions and is sat under normal school exam conditions. The papers are then sent away to be marked by UKMT and the best pupils in the country are awarded Bronze, Silver or Gold Certificates.

The competition is aimed at students in the Sixth Form and Princethorpe selected 27 able mathematicians from both Lower and Upper Sixth to participate in this year’s Challenge. It is a demanding exercise designed to stretch and test pupils’ mathematical skills, so the College is delighted that this year, Princethorpe’s mathematicians achieved exceptional results.

Congratulations to Upper Sixth Former, Joseph Newborough who was awarded a Gold certificate, and took the award for best performing student in school, and to Lower Sixth Formers, Blessing Katanda and Mia Samra, who were awarded a Silver certificate, and took the joint award for best performing students in the Lower Sixth. Joseph Newborough, Christopher Lock and Alexander Flegg performed so well that they have also qualified for the follow-on round, the Senior Kangaroo Challenge.

Gold certificate: Joseph Newborough, Christopher Lock and Alexander Flegg

Silver certificate: Jack Grindal, Lola Ahley, Blessing Katanda and Mia Samra.

Bronze certificate: Zachary Abba, Emma Sarkies, Adam Ledbrook, Zachary Johnson, Natasha Thomas, Anjola Okusanya, Ollie Hutton, Jack Fleming, Dominic Lee, Archy Walker, Andrew Wills and Roman Thearia.

Well done all and many thanks to all the pupils who took part. We hope you enjoyed the challenge.

Tagged  2023-2024  Academic