{"Princethorpe College": {"id": 10,"link": "/home/princethorpe","color": "#004a87","newsSrc": "/news/?pid=1045&nid=8","storiesSrc": "/news/?pid=1045&nid=9"}}
Artboard 1
Skip to content ↓

Claverdon Are High 5 Netball Champions

11 Mar

Four Warwickshire primary school teams took part in Princethorpe College’s High 5 Netball Tournament.

Welford-on-Avon Primary School was joined by Ettington Church of England Primary School, Radford Semele Church of England Primary School and Claverdon Primary School.

The competition took place on Tuesday 10 March on the College’s outside netball courts and the teams had the chance to test their skills against their opponents in a round robin of matches playing to England Netball High 5 netball rules; a popular entry format of the traditional game that has players rotating positions and ensures the ball keeps moving. With vocal support from the side-lines, the children threw themselves enthusiastically into the matches clearly enjoying the competitive nature of the tournament.

Umpired by Princethorpe’s Young Sports Leaders, you could see the children’s skills developing game by game as they took on board feedback and suggestions. Each team played three 10-minute matches.

After completing the first round the teams all played one further match to decide the final placings. Claverdon faced Radford Semele in a fast-paced final, both teams played with flair and enthusiasm but Claverdon just clinched the title 1-0 with a super shot on goal.

Presenting the certificates, PE Teacher and Primary Schools Sports Liaison, Hannah Carminati, said, “It was great to welcome all the teams to Princethorpe and to be able to offer these young players the chance to play in a netball tournament.  All the pupils were so enthusiastic; I saw great ball work, tremendous teamwork and plenty of energy on court today.”

Well done to all of the players and thanks also to Princethorpe’s umpires, Mia Darling, Maddie Glasspool, Mia Hornett, Nell Johnston and Emelia Tubb, for officiating all the games.

Tagged  2019-2020  Admissions