Charity Work

Thinking of and serving others is a key theme at Princethorpe and manifests itself often through fund-raising for a variety of good causes close to the College community's heart, including Mary's Meals through whom we support a school in Liberia.

Many of our Sixth Formers are involved in our thriving Youth St Vincent de Paul volunteering scheme. They visit old people’s homes, local schools and hospices, for example, take part in fund raising events and invite elderly residents to enjoy Christmas lunch and strawberry teas at the College. There are many opportunities for our Sixth Formers to learn and show leadership skills and to be excellent team members. Many Sixth Formers are prefects and subject ambassadors.

Termly non-uniform days raise funds for charities nominated by the pupils and the annual Pink Day and Blue Day in support of Breast Cancer Care and Prostrate and Testicular Cancer are enthusiastically supported by the Sixth Form. As is the gruelling Coventry Way Walk, a sponsored 40 mile walk, which tests the hardiest of souls.

Community service is a key element of our innovative Princethorpe Diploma and Youth SVP Group is our Sixth Form Community Service group, As well as visits to care homes, The Granger’s Club for people with learning difficulties and to local primary schools such as Bilton Grange and Our Lady’s in Princethorpe, members of Youth SVP help support the Christmas Shoebox appeal run by Samaritan’s Purse and organise a food collection for the Leamington Night Shelter. Any student in the Sixth Form is welcome to get involved.

Co-curricular activities for the Sixth Form

There is always a wide variety of events going on and Sixth Formers are encouraged to participate in sporting, musical, cultural and social activities. Many of our young people with previously unrecognised talents positively blossom in the Sixth Form, when they take part in our performances, represent the College in rugby or netball, or learn the art of public speaking, for example.

The range of activities on offer is impressive. Wednesday afternoons are given over to sport; all students choose from rugby, cricket, hockey, football, netball, dance, gym training and racket sports. More recreational sport is also now available including horse-riding, skating and swimming. We play fixtures on Wednesdays and Saturdays in a number of sports and all students are encouraged to participate. What is lovely is the wonderful sense of camaraderie shown by the Sixth Form and their pride in representing the College. Sixth Formers do take part in a large number of cocurricular sports such as hockey tours, skiing trips and equestrian events.

In recent years Sixth Formers have also enjoyed trips to New York and Washington, taken on the challenges of a month long ‘Camps International’ expedition to Equador and the Galápagos Islands and the ever popular Senior Sports Tour to South Africa.

We have a talented and committed music department at Princethorpe and our Sixth Formers form the backbone of music performances by the choir, the orchestra and jazz band. Participation in the Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme ensures that there are opportunities to develop fully and be busy and fulfilled.

  1. January 2019

    1. Jan 23 Wed

      1. Jan 24 Thu

        1. Jan 25 Fri

          1. Jan 26 Sat

            1. Jan 27 Sun

              1. Jan 28 Mon

                1. Jan 29 Tue

                  1. Jan 30 Wed

                    1. Jan 31 Thu

                    2. February 2019

                      1. Feb 01 Fri

                        1. Feb 02 Sat

                          1. Feb 03 Sun

                            1. Feb 04 Mon

                              1. Feb 05 Tue

                                1. Feb 06 Wed

                                  1. Feb 07 Thu

                                    1. Feb 08 Fri

                                      1. Feb 09 Sat

                                        1. Feb 10 Sun

                                          1. Feb 11 Mon

                                            1. Feb 12 Tue

                                              1. Feb 13 Wed

                                                1. Feb 14 Thu

                                                  1. Feb 15 Fri

                                                    1. Non-Uniform Day and Sixth Form Blue DaySixth Form Centre
                                                  2. Feb 16 Sat

                                                    1. Feb 17 Sun

                                                      1. Feb 18 Mon

                                                        1. Feb 19 Tue

                                                          1. Feb 20 Wed

                                                            1. Feb 21 Thu