Charity and Community

Thinking of and serving others is a key theme at Princethorpe and manifests itself often through fund-raising for a variety of good causes close to the College community's heart, including Mary's Meals through whom we support a school in Liberia.

Termly non-uniform days raise funds for charities nominated by the pupils and the annual Pink Day and Blue Day in support of Breast Cancer Care and Prostrate and Testicular Cancer are enthusiastically supported by the Sixth Form. As is the gruelling Coventry Way Walk, a sponsored 40 mile walk, which tests the hardiest of souls.

Community service is a key element of our innovative Princethorpe Diploma and Youth SVP Group is our Sixth Form Community Service group, As well as visits to care homes, The Granger’s Club for people with learning difficulties and to local primary schools such as Bilton Grange and Our Lady’s in Princethorpe, members of Youth SVP help support the Christmas Shoebox appeal run by Samaritan’s Purse and organise a food collection for the Leamington Night Shelter. Any student in the Sixth Form is welcome to get involved.

Walking for Mary’s Meals

Since 2008, Princethorpe College students and staff have raised nearly £47,000 for Mary’s Meals. Mary’s Meals is a Scottish-based charity that provides a daily meal in their place of education for over 923,000 children in countries such as Malawi, Kenya, Haiti, Liberia, Ukraine, India and the Philippines. The principle is so simple. Provide children with a good, nourishing meal in school and those who would otherwise be on the streets looking for food or working to earn money for their family will come to school. Through education, they are taking the most important step out of a life of poverty. Working with a vast team of volunteers and countless fundraisers all over the world, Mary’s Meals manages to provide what is the most essential to children at an incredibly low cost – only £10.70 on average to feed one child for an entire year. 

Over the years, Princethorpe have organised cake sales, pancake eating competitions, sold flowers on valentine’s day and founded an annual school welly wanging competition. The most important annual fundraising event is a sponsored 40 mile walk around the perimeter of Coventry (in a single day) in April. The proceeds of these events will continue to provide a daily meal in school for the 131 children at Betty Williams Community School in Bomi County Liberia. 

To support this great charity go to www.marysmeals.org or to sponsor this year’s fundraising endeavours at Princethorpe College, please go to our justgiving page: http://www.justgiving.com/princethorpecollege-marysmeals2013

  1. February 2019

    1. Feb 18 Mon

      1. Feb 19 Tue

        1. Feb 20 Wed

          1. Feb 21 Thu

            1. Feb 22 Fri

              1. Feb 23 Sat

                1. Feb 24 Sun

                  1. Feb 25 Mon

                    1. Feb 26 Tue

                      1. Feb 27 Wed

                        1. Feb 28 Thu

                        2. March 2019

                          1. Mar 01 Fri

                            1. Mar 02 Sat

                              1. Mar 03 Sun

                                1. Mar 04 Mon

                                  1. Mar 05 Tue

                                    1. 13:25-13:55
                                      Pancake RacesSports Hall
                                  2. Mar 06 Wed

                                    1. Mar 07 Thu

                                      1. Mar 08 Fri

                                        1. 14:55-15:45
                                          Sixth Form Visiting Speaker - Peter Higgins, Mary's Meals6F Lecture Theatre
                                      2. Mar 09 Sat

                                        1. Mar 10 Sun

                                          1. 08:30-15:30
                                            Mary's Meals 24 Mile Walk
                                        2. Mar 11 Mon

                                          1. Mar 12 Tue

                                            1. Mar 13 Wed

                                              1. Mar 14 Thu

                                                1. Mar 15 Fri

                                                  1. Mar 16 Sat

                                                    1. Mar 17 Sun

                                                      1. Mar 18 Mon

                                                        1. Mar 19 Tue

                                                          1. Mar 20 Wed

                                                            1. Mar 21 Thu

                                                              1. Mar 22 Fri

                                                                1. Mar 23 Sat

                                                                  1. Mar 24 Sun

                                                                    1. Mar 25 Mon

                                                                      1. Mar 26 Tue

                                                                        1. Mar 27 Wed

                                                                          1. Mar 28 Thu

                                                                            1. 13:25-13:45
                                                                              Mary's Meals 40 Mile Briefing6FCLT
                                                                          2. Mar 29 Fri

                                                                            1. Mar 30 Sat

                                                                              1. Mar 31 Sun

                                                                              2. April 2019

                                                                                1. Apr 01 Mon

                                                                                  1. Apr 02 Tue

                                                                                    1. Apr 03 Wed

                                                                                      1. Apr 04 Thu

                                                                                        1. Apr 05 Fri

                                                                                          1. Apr 06 Sat

                                                                                            1. Apr 07 Sun

                                                                                              1. 05:30-20:30
                                                                                                Mary's Meals 40 Mile Walk
                                                                                            2. Apr 08 Mon

                                                                                              1. Apr 09 Tue

                                                                                                1. Apr 10 Wed

                                                                                                  1. Apr 11 Thu

                                                                                                    1. Apr 12 Fri

                                                                                                      1. Apr 13 Sat

                                                                                                        1. Apr 14 Sun

                                                                                                          1. Apr 15 Mon

                                                                                                            1. Apr 16 Tue

                                                                                                              1. Apr 17 Wed

                                                                                                                1. Apr 18 Thu